Experimenting with PicApp images in my blog

[picapp src=”0/2/3/e/UCLA_Bruins_vs_356f.jpg?adImageId=5147881&imageId=6774884″ width=”500″ height=”333″ /]

Embedding a PicApp image in a WordPress post is very easy. There are two embedding codes supplied. One is for self-hosted WordPress blogs. Another is for WordPress.com-hosted blogs like this one. To copy the code, highlight the whole code applicable to your site, and then paste it on where you want it to show in your post.

The image above is an example of a PicApp image embedded on this post using the codes supplied by PicApp for WordPress.com hosted blogs.

What if you do not want the thumbnails strip?

If you are not a great fan of thumbnails being displayed on the related-images strip, you can make them “disappear” by resizing the image. I did not even experiment with this one. The information was already supplied in WordPress.com’s support forum. Well, not exactly the way I wrote it here. But it was pretty obvious from the WordPress.com’s support page that that was how it could be done.

Below is a sample image grab where the related-images strip is removed and replaced by a PicApp-linked “Gallery” icon when the image is reduced. I reduced the image size by 50% of its original size.

[picapp src=”0/2/3/e/UCLA_Bruins_vs_356f.jpg?adImageId=5147881&imageId=6774884″ width=”250″ height=”167″ alt=”test image” border=”0″/]

How do you wrap the text around the resized and smaller image?

[picapp src=”0/2/3/e/UCLA_Bruins_vs_356f.jpg?adImageId=5147881&imageId=6774884″ width=”250″ height=”167″ alt=”test image” border=”0″ /]

I admit I am no expert in CSS. But what I normally use – a simple stylesheet – to align an image left or right works.

On this example, I used a stylesheet with the image being floated to the left and with a margin to the right of the image of 10px to make way for a nice whitespace between the image and text left margin.

I am pretty sure there are other ways of wrapping the text around the image or aligning the image left or right of your post.

Will I be using PicApp images in my blog? When pressed for time or I don’t have the right photographs in my library, why not? After all, the images are free, are they not?

Well, not exactly free like in free to do what you want with them. What is “free” is free access. We still have to “pay” for them, I suppose, by way of the traffic redirected to PicApp’s where advertisements are displayed or the viral marketing effect we create for PicApp by making the embedding code of the images available in our blogs for others to use.

To me, that is a very small price to pay, especially in these days of sharing and bookmarking.

9 responses to “Experimenting with PicApp images in my blog

  1. Hi Romy,
    This is a great tip about resizing the image to remove the thumbnail strip. I didn’t know about that one. I spent some time searching for images in PicApp the other day and I had a hard time finding what I wanted. Some of the tags need to be fixed. I contacted PicApp and they will forward the suggestion to the developers. Did you have any problems finding what you wanted right away?

    Thanks for the post!

    • Hi Ileane

      Thanks for the visit. Am glad you found the results of this post useful.

      I think the problem with searching for images using tags is in the indiscriminate use of tags. PicApp needs to look into those tags entered for images. PicApp looks like handing to me a dictionary when I select the Tag tab of an image.

      Here’s an example of tags attached to an image: “city, new york city, america, splash, morning, studios, studio, leaving, new, picture, publicity, square, good, news, times, york, at work, times square, seen, Trump, Good Morning America, Ivanka Trump, Ivanka, GMA”

      Cheers!

  2. Romy,

    I shared your tip about resizing the image to remove the filmstrip with another frustrated WordPress blogger. I put the link to your post in a comment on the blog, so I guess it will show up as a pingback.

    He has the same complaint about the tags. He was looking for a Canon camera and ending up with at “cannon”. I hope that if PicApp gets enough complaints they will hire someone to do tag “quality control”. We’ll see!

    Bye for now.

  3. I did a quick XHTML validation of this site after embedding PicApp images. My test shows that this site now has 23 validation errors (not good!), 15 of which are identified with the 3 PicApp images embedded on this post. Do others get the same result?

  4. Pingback: Revisiting PicApp images and embed codes « Working and WordPress-ing

  5. Pingback: Revisiting PicApp images and embed codes

  6. Pingback: Revisiting PicApp images and embed codes

Leave a Reply

