How to select a WordPress theme

After successfully logging in to my account (and responding to a prompt to change my system-generated password in the profile page), my first task is to select a theme.

Others would probably start entering a post but me, I just want to make sure that I have the right design for me to proceed with my blog. I don’t know about you but having the right theme somehow sets the mood of my blog.

To select a theme in a WordPress.com-hosted blog, step into the following:

Step 1: Select Appearance > Themes on the left panel of your dashboard.

WordPress themes

WordPress themes

Step 2: Browse over the 76 themes (that’s the number of themes as of to date).

NOTE: Unlike in a self-hosted blog, you have only very limited options to change the layout and looks of the theme. But still, you can customise the theme. For my blog at WordPress.com, I chose Grid Focus by Derek Punsalan as it is the closest to my self-hosted blog in terms of layout and design.

Step 3: Press the Activate link to select the theme you like.

You can change the theme anytime you want. Whilst the Preview mode will give you an idea of how your blog would look like, still I prefer to actually Activate it so I can run other tests which I will explain in subsequent posts.

Try other themes repeating Steps 2 and 3 until you find the right theme which reflects your writing style, content and aesthetic preference.

That’s all there is.

Updated October 22: I have changed themes twice already after this post. Current I am experimenting with NeoEase’s Inove WP theme.

One response to “How to select a WordPress theme

  1. Pingback: Changing themes is part of the exercise « Romy Cayabyab at WordPress.com

Leave a Reply

